The ASCRS Announces 2019 Ophthalmology Hall of Fame Inductees

Source: VisionMonday

The American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) has announced that it will induct Howard V. Gimbel, MD, MPH, FRCSC, FACS and the late Phillips Thygeson, MD into the ASCRS Ophthalmology Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 4, 2019, according to a report in VisionMonday. The ceremony will be held at 10:00 a.m. at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California, during the ASCRS opening general session of the ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting.

Dr. Howard Gimbel is an ophthalmologist and clinical professor at the University of Calgary and Loma Linda University. He is pioneer in out-patient cataract and refractive eye surgery and was the first ophthalmologist in Canada to use phacoemulsification for the removal of cataracts. Dr. Gimbel is also the developer of the Divide and Conquer phacoemulsification technique and the co-developer of the Continuous-Tear Capsulotomy technique, which are accepted as international standards of excellence for their safety and effectiveness.

Read the full article.

Related Content