Cornea Society Honors Alan Sugar, MD, With the Prominent Castroviejo Medal

Source: The Cornea Society

The Cornea Society has awarded its highest honor, the Castroviejo Medal, to Alan Sugar, MD, a professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences at the University of Michigan’s Kellogg Eye Center in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

The medal, named in honor of Ramon Castroviejo, the father of modern corneal transplant surgery and the inspiration for the founding of the Cornea Society, is awarded annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of cornea and anterior segment surgery.

“Dr. Sugar has pioneered research into every phase of corneal transplantation. His work has encompassed a dedication to eyebanking, earning him the Paton Award, refining the art and practice of corneal transplantation and finally in playing a leading role in corneal transplantation outcomes research,” Cornea Society President Elmer Tu, MD, said in a news release. “No better example of his commitment and service to the field of cornea has been his exemplary performance as editor-in-chief of the Cornea Society's journal, Cornea, which has continued to grow to be a showcase for all the world's best research. The Board of Directors of the Cornea Society unanimously chose Dr. Alan Sugar as the 2018 recipient of the Castroviejo Medal.”

Dr. Sugar is a leading cornea expert in the United States. He earned his medical degree from the University of Michigan and completed his ophthalmology residency at Washington University in St. Louis. He completed a fellowship in cornea and external diseases at the University of Florida.

He has been involved in clinical research on corneal transplantation, genetic features of Fuchs dystrophy, and new treatments for severely dry eyes. He is also involved with eye research through his work on the research committees of the Eye Bank Association of America and the Michigan Eye Bank. He is a co-chair of the Institutional Review Board (IRBMED), which oversees human subjects research for the University of Michigan Medical Center. He is also a past president of the Cornea Society.

Dr. Sugar has been recognized for his efforts to advance the field, receiving the prestigious R. Townley Paton award from the Eye Bank Association of America in 2016. This award is the highest honor for a corneal surgeon given by this leading cornea organization in the United States.


Related Content